## STATE OF MINNESOTA

## IN SUPREME COURT

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

C1-01-927

JUN 0 1 2001

FILED

## ORDER ESTABLISHING JUVENILE PROTECTION RULES COMMITTEE

On December 29, 1999, the Court issued an Order promulgating Rules 37-82 of the Rules of Juvenile Procedure (Juvenile Protection Rules) to be effective March 1, 2000.

It is anticipated that amendments to the Juvenile Protection Rules will be necessary due to changes in case law and federal and state statutes.

## NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

- 1. The Minnesota Supreme Court Juvenile Protection Rules Committee is hereby established to:
  - a. Review case law relating to the Juvenile Protection Rules;
  - b. Review federal and state statutes relating to the Juvenile Protection Rules;
  - c. Monitor implementation of, and consider requests for revisions to, the Juvenile Protection Rules; and
  - d. Submit to the Court recommendations for necessary revision of the Juvenile Protection Rules.

- 2. At least annually the Committee shall report to the Court any recommendations for revision of the Juvenile Protection Rules. Annual reports shall be submitted by December 15, with the initial report due December 15, 2002.
- 3. Honorable Timothy Bloomquist, Kanabec County District Court Judge, is appointed as Committee Chair for a three-year term commencing June 1, 2001, and ending June 30, 2004.
- 4. The following individuals are appointed as Committee members for three-year terms commencing June 1, 2001, and ending June 30, 2004:

Ann Stiehm Ahlstrom, Attorney, Department of Human Services Richard Coleman, Ramsey County Social Services Gary Debele, Private Attorney, Hennepin County James Dorsey, Guardian Ad Litem, Hennepin County Heidi Drobnick, Executive Director, Indian Child Law Welfare Center Frances Fairbanks, Executive Director, Minneapolis American Indian Center Jane Glander, Guardian Ad Litem Coordinator, Wabasha County Peter Gorman, Hennepin County Public Defender's Office Jane Gustafson, Todd County Attorney's Office Dianne Heins, Private Attorney, Hennepin County Elaine Hutton, Washington County Social Services Hon. Thomas Kalitowski, Minnesota Court of Appeals Anna Lamb, Hennepin County Juvenile Court Administrator Shireen Lee, St. Louis County (Virginia) Guardian Ad Litem Coordinator Joyce Miyamota, Hennepin County Attorney's Office Irene Opsahl, Attorney, Legal Aid Society of Minneapolis Hon. Denise Reilly, Hennepin County District Court Judge Marian Saksena, Attorney, Children's Law Center Amy Silberberg, Private Attorney, Goodhue County Hon. Richard Taylor, Polk County District Court Judge Rockwell Wells, Crow Wing County Public Defender's Office Jerry Winter, District Administrator, First Judicial District Hon. Renee Worke, Waseca County District Court Judge

- 5. Vacancies shall be filled by Order of this Court.
- 6. Judith Nord, Staff Attorney, State Court Administration, shall serve as staff to the Committee.

DATE: May 31, 2001

BY THE COURT:

Kathleen A. Blatz Chief Justice